Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join or Renew
Board Roster


The Freedom to Read Foundation Board of Trustees is composed of eleven elected trustees, each of whom serves two-year terms, along with four ex-officio trustees who are on the board by virtue of their offices in the American Library Association.  The board year runs from the end of the Annual Meeting (usually late June) following elections through the end of the subsequent Annual Meeting.


President: Martin Garnar [Term 2, yr 1: Expires 2018]  Dean, Kraemer Family Library, University of Colorado Colorado Springs, CO; 719-255-3115,

Vice President: Em Claire Knowles [Term 2, yr 1: Expires 2018] Assistant Dean for Student Affairs, Simmons College Graduate School of Library and Information Science, Boston, MA; 617-521-2798; Fax: 617-521-3762; emclaire.knowles at

Treasurer: Herbert Krug [Term 1, yr 1: expires 2018] President, CrossRoads Marketing Solutions, Evanston, IL;

Executive Director & Secretary: James LaRue, Freedom to Read Foundation, Chicago, IL; 312-280-4226; JLaRue at


J. Douglas Archer, former chair ALA Intellectual Freedom Committee; Peace Studies, Global Affairs and Political Science Librarian, University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, IN; 574-631-6656; archer.1 at

Charles Brownstein, Executive Director, Comic Book Legal Defense Fund, New York, NY;  charles.brownstein at

Mario M. Gonzalez, Executive Director, Passaic Public Library; Passaic, NJ;

Kathy Ishizuka, Executive Editor, School Library Journal, New York, NY; 646-380-0727; kishizuka at

Emily Knox, Ph.D., MSLIS, Assistant Professor, Graduate School of Library and Information Science, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Champaign, IL;

Candace Morgan, Adjunct Instructor Emporia State University School of Library and Information Management, Portland, OR;

Neil Richards, Professor of Law, Washington University in St. Louis  nrichards at

Julia Warga, Director for Research and Instruction, Library and Information Services, Kenyon College: Former Chair, ALA's Intellectual Freedom Round Table. julia.warga at


Dr. Julie B. Todaro, ALA President, Dean Library Services, Austin Community College, Austin, TX;

James G. Neal, ALA President-elect, University Librarian Emeritus at Columbia University, NY;

Keith Michael Fiels, Executive Director, American Library Association, Chicago, IL; 312-280-1392; kfiels at

Pamela Klipsch, ALA Intellectual Freedom Committee Chair; pklipsch at


Theresa Chmara, Attorney-at-Law; 1629 K Street NW, Suite 300, Washington, DC 20006; 202-508-3642; tchmara at



EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE provides the general governance of the Foundation between business meetings, and consists of the President, Vice-President, Treasurer, and two other Board members. This is the only elective committee.

FINANCE COMMITTEE works closely with the Treasurer and the Executive Director to maintain the fiscal health of the Foundation by reviewing Foundation financial reports, opportunities for investment, etc.

FUNDRAISING & MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE seeks to identify methods for generating Foundation revenue, and implements programs and campaigns to do so.  Additionally, works to increase Foundation membership.

NOMINATING COMMITTEE develops the slate of nominees for the annual election of Board members.

ROLL OF HONOR COMMITTEE identifies a suitable recipient or recipients for the Foundation's Roll of Honor Award, as per established criteria.

DEVELOPING ISSUES COMMITTEE identifies key intellectual freedom issues that could be targets for future litigation, and suggests topics for board meeting discussions.






Note: updated Nov 2016

Sabrina Carnesi (AASL), School Librarian, Crittenden Middle School, Norfolk, VA; sabrina.carnesi at

Maggie Farrell (ACRL),Clemson University Dean of Libraries;

Mary Ellen Pellington (AILA), Director, Octavia Fellin Public Library, Gallup, NM; 505-863-1291; Fax: 505-722-5090; library at

Kay A. Cassell (ALCTS), Assistant Professor, Rutgers School of Communication and Information, New Brunswick, NJ; 917-921-2730; kcassell at

To be announced (ALISE)

Chelsea Couillard Smith (ALSC),

Eldon Ray James (ASCLA co-liaison), Researcher, Word & Pictures, Austin, TX; 512-413-5264; erayjames at 

Jonathan Reynolds (ASCLA co-liaison), Manager, Special Services, Jacksonville Public Library, Jacksonville, FL; 904-630-0344; Fax: 904-630-0604; jerryr at

Sophia Sotilleo (BCALA), Assistant Professor/Access Services Librarian, Langston Hughes Memorial Library, The Lincoln University, Lincoln University, PA; 484-365-7261; Fax: 484-365-8106; ssotilleo at

Patricia Hoffmann (Chapter Relations Committee)

Candace Morgan (Committee on Legislation), 503-245-3868; cd_df_morgan at

Mario Gonzalez (ALA Executive Board), Executive Director, Passaic Public LIbrary, Passaic, NJ; 973-779-0474; mgonzalez at

Carolyn Caywood (GLBTRT), Virginia Beach, VA; cacaywood at

Howard S. Carrier  (GODORT), Social Sciences Librarian & Copyright Advisor, James Madison University; 540-568-5277;

Eric Suess (IFRT), Library Director, Marshall Public Library, Pocatello, ID; 208-232-1263 x29; esuess at



Jennifer Simon Halai (LITA), Seattle, WA; jshalai at 

Susan Moore (MAGIRT), Catalog Librarian/Bibliographer, University of Northern Iowa Rod Library, Cedar Falls, IA; 319-273-2781; Fax: 319-273-2913; susan.moore at

Margo Sussman (NMRT), New Hyde Park, NY; mjs128 at

Robert Hubsher (PLA), Executive Director, Ramapo Catskill Library System, Middletown, NY; 845-243-3747 x242; Fax: 845-569-2010; rhubsher at

Loida Garcia-Febo (REFORMA), Coordinator, Special Services, Queens Library, Queens, NY; 718-990-8569; Fax: 718-990-8626; loidagarciafebo at

Bill McHugh  (RUSA), Northwestern University Library, Evanston, IL;   bmchugh at


Mark Hudson (SRRT), Adult Services Librarian, Monroeville Public Library, Monroeville, PA; 412-372-0500 x13; hudsonme at

Nann Blaine Hilyard (United for Libraries), Winthrop Harbor, IL; 847-872-2688; nbhilyard at

Kristin Fletcher-Spear (YALSA),  Administrative Librarian, Foothills Branch Library, City of Glendale Community Services Department, Glendale, AZ KFletcher-Spear at


For more information

For more information on the Freedom to Read Foundation, please contact Freedom to Read Foundation, 50 East Huron Street, Chicago, IL 60611; (800) 545-2433, ext. 4226; Email  ftrf at

News from FTRF